SD Beauty Review: Urban Decay Naked Smoky Eyeshadow Palette

I absolutely love the look of the smoky eye, but I admit – I’m terrible at it.  It is truly a technique that I need to master!  Sick of lusting after Kim Kardashian’s perfect smoky eyes, I decided to buy this palette the minute Sephora made it available.  On July 16th, it was finally released in Canada, and I went and purchased it first thing with the rest of the makeup-obsessed!

Kim Kardashian Smoky Eye Editorial Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette Style Domination Fashion and Beauty Blogger

I don’t care what anyone thinks…Kim is beautiful.

Well, I love it.  It is fantastic!  The palette is comprised of 12 different shades, most of which are lighter than black. For the look below, I used Smolder from the lash line to the crease, Black Market and Dagger in the crease, Dirtysweet on the brow bone and High to outline under the eyebrow.  I also used Black Market to outline my bottom eyelid.

Youtube Vlog Smoky Eye Rimmel Lash Accelerator Chanel Eyeliner tutorial Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette Style Domination Fashion and Beauty Blogger Tutorial

A quick screenshot of my smoky eyes from my YouTube video

Smoky Eye Editorial Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette Style Domination Fashion and Beauty Blogger

For eyeliner, I used Chanel Waterproof Eyeliner in Noir Intense both on the lash line, tight-lined along the outer corner of the top eyelid and along my waterline.  I love this particular eyeliner as it stays put and is great for smoky eye looks.  If your eyes water at all, this eyeliner does not run or fade. To top everything off, I used a few coats of Rimmel Lash Accelerator Mascara on both top and bottom lashes (another product I highly recommend – the growth formula actually works).

Smoky Eye Rimmel Lash Accelerator Chanel Eyeliner tutorial Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette Style Domination Fashion and Beauty Blogger

Incredibly impressed with Rimmel Lash Accelerator Mascara. This stuff works.

Smoky Eye Rimmel Lash Accelerator Chanel Eyeliner tutorial Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette Style Domination Fashion and Beauty Blogger

A close up of the Chanel Stylo Yeux Eyeliner

I am extremely happy with this palette!  The colours are highly pigmented, true to what you see in the pan, blend really well, and  it has a nice range of colours for all skin tones. At $64 CAD, it is a great buy – especially for 12 different eyeshadows.

What I especially liked about the Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette is that it comes with a great double-ended brush!  One side is a fluffy blending brush and the other side is nice, little smudging brush. Both brushes are made of synthetic fibres and seem to be of good quality.  Secondly, this palette comes with a handy guide with steps for creating four different smoky eye looks: the Iconic UD Smoky Eye (smoky eye using dark brown tones), the Smoky Reality Star (Kim Kardashian-esque), the Smoky Cat (light bronzy and gold smoky eye with winged liner) and the Everyday Smoky Eye (day look).

Overall, I highly recommend this product!  Here is my Youtube video below featuring the look I created with this palette:

Don’t forget to subscribe to my Youtube channel (www.youtube.com/styledomination), and follow along on Instagram (www.instagram.com/styledomination) and Twitter (www.twitter.com/styledomination)!

xo,

Style Domination Logo Blogger Fashion Blogger Beauty Blogger Foodie Ottawa Canada

Follow:

Leave a comment

  1. August 3, 2015 / 5:06 pm

    I need to try that palette! Love, love the Naked 1 and 3 🙂 great review! ??

    • August 3, 2015 / 5:12 pm

      Thanks, Doll! Glad you liked it!! Get it – the shades are pretty flattering!

      • August 3, 2015 / 6:12 pm

        That definitely will be on my “to purchase” list! :D???

  2. August 3, 2015 / 5:24 pm

    That is such a gorgeous palette! Would love to get myself one but I’m terrible at eye shadow so if I did get one, I would go for the first one 🙂 Loved the post! x

    • August 3, 2015 / 5:50 pm

      Aww! There are quite a few of these palettes now, and I’m not great at eyeshadow application either, so I went with the first one too. Love it. You may like the Naked 3 too, which are all pretty subtle gold, champagne and rose gold shades!

    • August 3, 2015 / 6:36 pm

      Thanks, luv! Working up the courage to actually apply makeup on camera! #clowntime

  3. August 3, 2015 / 8:12 pm

    Love it!! 🙂 I’ve always had the kind of face that appreciates imperfect, smudgy eye looks … Hard lines and careful edges are not my friend! So I’m digging your smoky eyes. 🙂 I think I want to try this palette now. Thanks for the inspiration!! 🙂

    • August 3, 2015 / 11:07 pm

      You are welcome!!! I still need to perfect the smoky eye look. Watching some great makeup tutorials on YouTube now! Lol! Thanks for your kind words! xoxo

  4. August 3, 2015 / 10:54 pm

    you are freaking adorable …………
    seriously

      • August 3, 2015 / 11:03 pm

        U dont need to Try …………… last minute of ur vid MAGIC DOMINIQUE ……………… u light up babes xo

        • August 4, 2015 / 2:13 pm

          Thank you SO MUCH! Haha! Slowly but surely getting better and more confident. Thankfully, the new Apple update made stupid iMovie easier to use, so I’m excited to start trying out all of the editing features. I’ll be the next Spielberg soon enough – lol!!!

          • August 4, 2015 / 2:17 pm

            hey – don’t doubt yourself ……….. 🙂 making movies -i see it xo !!!!!!!!

  5. August 3, 2015 / 10:56 pm

    Haha it is so ironic that you reviewed this amazing palette today and I happened to put it on my purchase list for the month of August! I am the queen of smoky and dark eyeshadows all day, everyday but just like yourself I am quite the amateur when it comes to makeup application. Well you most definitely aren’t after I just viewed that tutorial … LOVED your flawless application and blending technique – you looked amazing! Thank you so much for this review and getting me extra excited for this new purchase of mine. YAY.

    Xo. http://www.sonamnaiducreative.com

    • August 4, 2015 / 10:31 pm

      Awwww!!! Thank you so much for the compliments! I really took my time blending. I really want to try a purple smoky eye and navy blue smoky eye next. I booked a makeup lesson with a friend of mine who’s also a MAC Cosmetics makeup artist. Plan on blogging about it this month.

      Hope you get the palette! Anxious to see it on you! Smoky eyes must be so flattering on you! xoxox

      • August 4, 2015 / 11:48 pm

        Omgosh! That is super exciting; can’t wait till you blog all about that experience; be sure to tell us all about the techniques you picked up 🙂 Eeeek! I KNOW! I simply can’t wait to get my hands on that palette!! I really fancy dark, dramatic, sexy eyeshadows 🙂

        • August 5, 2015 / 10:58 am

          I most definitely will! Once you get it and try it, post some pics too! xo

  6. August 3, 2015 / 11:40 pm

    I love the palette … I’m happy you reviewed it .. I remember talking to you about it last month .. Love the smoky look .. Def picking it up now

    • August 4, 2015 / 10:25 am

      Awesome, Valentina! Glad you enjoyed the review! Urban Decay has so many nice palettes now – I didn’t quite realize until I went to Sephora! xoxox

  7. August 4, 2015 / 12:26 am

    I have never tried this brand but I think I am going to give this shadow a try since it looks so good on you!! I especially like that it comes with the brush you mentioned 🙂

    • August 4, 2015 / 10:24 am

      Thank you so much for your kind words! I really feel this palette is universally flattering. You should try the Naked 3 palette too, which are really nice shades of champagne and rose golds, which will flatter your complexion and blond hair too! xoxoxo

      P.S. The brush is great!

  8. August 4, 2015 / 1:41 am

    This palette looks so gorgeous! I def want to add it to my collection sometime though I need to get the other Naked palettes first lol. Love the smoky eye you created! <3 xo

    • August 4, 2015 / 2:12 pm

      Katie – I think you’d love the Naked 3 – I think that’s the one with all of the beautiful light golds and rose golds! So pretty! They are mostly too light for me. Love the Naked Smoky though – proving to be well worth the cost! Thanks for the kind words!

      • August 4, 2015 / 7:26 pm

        You’re very welcome! The Naked 3 is one that I have my eye on. The one that I will buy first possibly. Those rosy tones are my shades that I love! Naked Smoky would come last though because I don’t do smoky eyes very much lol. It looks fab on you though! <3 xo

  9. August 4, 2015 / 8:44 am

    I was sooo close to picking this up on Saturday but didn’t as I’ve always thought smoky eyes are more of an evening look. BUT I think the one you did in this post it just as wearable for the daytime…hmm I may need to pay a visit to Urban Decay again haha! Jay x

    • August 4, 2015 / 10:23 am

      Hi Jay! Yes – there are some very wearable colours! I think you could also pull off a really nice brown or bronzy-gold smoky eye day look too!!!

    • August 4, 2015 / 1:58 pm

      Wow, Rachel! Thanks so much for your kind words! I was just rewatching it, being hard on myself…and these sweet comments really put things into perspective. xoxoxox

      • August 4, 2015 / 2:13 pm

        Awh good I hope so! You did an amazing job 🙂 xx

  10. August 4, 2015 / 12:48 pm

    You look beautiful! That palette is so tempting. <3

    • August 4, 2015 / 1:56 pm

      Thank you, my dear! Maybe you should treat yourself!!! xoxox

  11. August 5, 2015 / 12:24 pm

    OMG I didn’t even know that palette came out! I’ve been waiting to get it. I admit I don’t keep up with makeup too much because I am not that good at putting it on :x. If you get a chance come check out my fashion, fitness and lifestyle blog 🙂 http://www.sincerelyaimee.com

  12. August 7, 2015 / 11:20 am

    Great review! I’m so tempted to get this palette, although I already have the original Naked palette. Would you say it’s truly a good investment? I love that it comes with 3 non-shimmer / matte kind of highlight shades at the end of the palette, I think it’s a good balance amongst all the shimmer!

    thestylebanks.wordpress.com x

    • August 9, 2015 / 9:27 am

      Hi Izzie – yes, I definitely think it’s a good investment. The eyeshadows are great quality, you get twelve of the for $64, and you have everything you need to create various smoky eye looks. I’m loving it! Thanks for reading! xo

  13. August 18, 2015 / 11:17 am

    Love your review! I have the Naked 2 & the basic palette… think it’s time to add a 3rd one to the family! xx

    • August 18, 2015 / 11:35 am

      Awww! Thanks so much! Loving this palette! Glad I scored one. I have the Naked 1 palette and it really made me an Urban Decay fan!

      • August 19, 2015 / 1:16 am

        All the shades are SO amazing. I need this palette! Where did you get yours?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.